Whenever you upgrade
to a plan with increased benefits you will only be paying the difference
between the cost of the new plan and the usage you already made of your current plan.
Alternatively, if you downgrade
to a plan with less benefits, you will never be downgraded
immediately. Instead, you will keep your current benefits until the beginning of the next billing period.
for detailed information.